A New Feature: Torture or Treat

torture or treat logo

I want to get a little more interactive with the on average 20 or so readers who stumble on this site every day. I’m introducing a new feature, Torture or Treat. Recommend anything, movies, music, television shows, books(I’ll regret that), and I’ll determine, as the title says, whether they are Torture or a Treat. I already started taking suggestions on Twitter, which is where my initial list is derived, but I’m still taking new recommendations, both in the comments on this blog and on the aforementioned twitter. I’m sure you are dying to know my opinion on something you hold very near and dear. Let me embrace it with you, or tear it asunder and chastise it.

Here’s the first batch for Torture or Treat, only films so far:

21, recommended by Kelli

Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, recommended by Mary

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, recommended by Meghan

Sex and Lucía, recommended by Naomi

I’ll admit that I’m looking forward to some of these more than others. Naomi had originally recommended Ratboy, which sadly is out of print on DVD.  Damn, that looks like a hoot.

So send in those suggestions. I got the time, give me something to do.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “A New Feature: Torture or Treat”

  1. Ryan Says:

    Perdido Street Station, you book borrowing and never reading mofo. 🙂

  2. tony Says:

    winds poem by mt. eerie (music)

  3. Justin Says:

    You know my recommendation, sir….

    Also, if you’re diving into Miyazaki, I think “Castle in the Sky” is a better place to start. It’s fun, it’s light-hearted, it’s full of action, and there’s lots of flying sequences. It’s probably his most purely entertaining film, and a nice toe-dip into the water before plunging into something heaver like Nausicaa.

  4. gnomesdeplume Says:

    I’m determined to find Ratboy. It’s my new mission in life.

Leave a Reply

